My new boyfriend–the rookie pitcher

I have to tell y’all something: I’m breaking up with Nick Markakis.  It has to be over because I have a new love on the Birds–Zach Britton.

I’m not one to usually fall for pitchers because they have one job–don’t suck at it–and the O’s pitchers tend to do exactly that.

However, after watching the first three games, I am actually impressed with the pitching.  Sunday made me a little worried though when rookie Zach Britton took the mound.

He quickly squashed those worries and won my heart, going 6 innings and throwing 58 of his 96 pitches for strikes.  He only allowed 3 hits and gave up 1 run during his time on the mound.  He walked 3 and struck out 6 as well.

During Spring Training, Britton went 3-0 with a 1.35 ERA in his 5 starts.  He allowed 22 hit in his 20 innings pitched.

The 23-year-old lefty is making a solid name for himself and I don’t see him going anywhere–even when the injuries to our other pitchers subside.  He’s got a great sinker and stuff that breaks about three-quarters of the way in.  Because of that he gets hitters on top of the ball and gets the ground outs.

With his talent, I think I’ve just become a pitcher girl.  After 5 long years of being in love with Nick Markakis, I think it’s time to move on to a younger and newer prospect.  So, I’m really sorry Nicky but it’s over.  Britton’s my boy now.  I’m thinking his nickname will end up being Zachy.

Leave a comment